Been a Long Time Gone

I’ve been listening to a lot of Dixie Chicks lately so you’ll have to excuse me. I have been gone for quite some time though and I’m hoping that maybe 2017 will be the year I stop neglecting this little baby blog. A lot has changed in the almost year that I’ve been away. My grandfather’s passing really took the wind out of me and I still find myself struggling some days. I was so close to him that I don’t know if that hole in my heart will ever actually close.

Enough sad talk. Some happier items! In 106 days I will get to marry my best friend. Joseph has helped me through the roughest time in my life (among many other minor crises) and he deals with my daily dose of crazy. I love him more than I knew possible.

I started a new job! I am now working as a school nurse. A ton of thought went into this. I secretly loved the rush of working in a cardiac procedural area but it didn’t love me back. The long hours, constant stress, and overwhelming demand of the job just took its toll and I couldn’t see myself staying in that environment long-term. I knew that for my health and sanity I needed to make a change. So, while my days are now spent dealing with much more crying and poo, I’m quite honestly as happy as I’ve been in a long time. My hours are consistent, I get holidays off, I’m sleeping a solid eight hours a night, and I get an entire summer off!

I got serious about my weight training! I’ve gotten significantly stronger over the last six months and I’m excited to see where I continue to go from here. I’m currently doing Starting Strength programming. I’m even entered to compete in the Starting Strength spring competition in April!

I am currently on and rocking a Whole30! It is the first time that I have ever made it to day 19 of any challenge. I truly feel like it’s because the rest of my life has finally aligned. I’ve mad choices that are benefiting my help and happiness. There has been change but change is good, change means there is some kind of growth happening.

On that note, I’m excited to see what 2017 has to offer! I feel like this year has quite a lot of potential.

Leave a Reply

